Skip to content Skip to navigation

Agenda 2009 AgChairs


The Catamaran Resort, San Diego, California

click here for speaker information.

Friday, January 23


Buffet breakfast


Dairy Policy


Moderator and specialist - Dr. Robert Cropp, University of Wisconsin


Board Meeting (open to all)

12:00 -5:00 

Tour of San Diego County Agriculture production 


East Ocean Side - avocado, cut flowers and container nursery operations 


Host Eric Larson, San Diego County Farm Bureau


Opening Reception 


Hosted by the Canadian Consulate


Welcome- SARL President David Johnson


California Secretary of Agriculture A. G Kawamura 


Consul General David Fransen,


Hosted Regional Dinners


Pacific Beach Alehouse - South


World Famous – West 


Nick’s at the Beach – Midwest


Gringos Cantina - East


Hospitality Suite

Saturday, January 24


Buffet Breakfast


Welcome David Johnson 


Educating Consumers,  Ag’s Future Depends on it. 


Steve Kopperud, Policy Directions


Panel response
Dr. Tom Thompson, Olds College 
Mr. Jim Tucker, International Fairs and Expositions 
Mr. Dennis Treacy, Smithfield
Mr. Dave Flakne, Syngenta


** disclosure –it is a Summit rule that we do not have sponsors on the agenda, however, the board made the decision to provide a open panel discussion of what our sponsors are doing to help educate consumers and how legislators can take advantage of these efforts.


Spouse tour (San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park)


Production Breakouts I 


Truth in Labeling


Lee Posey, NCSL, Moderator 
 Ohio Senator Larry Mumpe
 Dr. Nancy M. Childs, St Joseph University, Dept of Food Marketing


Animal Rights/Animal Welfare


Steve Kopperud, Policy Directions, Moderator
 Matt, Bailey, Vice President, Foundation for Biomedical Research
 Gene Baur, President, Farm Sanctuary
 Mark Straw, Staff


Organic Farming, Genetics and the Future of Food 


 Rep. Nancy Smith Moderator Dr. Pamela Ronald, Chair, Plant Genomics Program, Univ of California
 Raoul Adamchuk, Director of the Organic Farm,  Univ. of California
 Staff Jon Watts Hull 


Family Farm Viability


Senator Phil Erdmann, Moderator and presenter
Richard Bonanno, Pleasant Valley Gardens 
 Don Cameron, Terra Nova Ranch


Ag Competitiveness: What are the Major Issues Facing Agriculture


PA Senator Michael Brubaker, Moderating
Roger Isom, Executive Vice President, California Cotton Board
Glenn Buckley, CF Industries  Scott Parsley, General Manager, East River Electric Power 


Lunch, Speaker - Lowell Catlett: Ag Futurist


ND Rep. Tom Deadrick, Moderating


Water, The Next Oil? 


Rod Snyder, NCGA Moderator
Pat O'Toole, President, Family Farm Alliance


Water Breakouts 


Ag Meteorology, 


 Representative Helen Miller, Moderator
Elwin Taylor, Professor of Ag Meterology, Iowa State 


Drought and Water Quantity,  


Doug Jones, Past President, Moderator
 MarkMasters, Flint River Policy Center
 Karl  Dreher, Water Policy Consultant 
Jon Watts Hull, Staff


Water Quality and Nutrient Management


MLA Ralph Eichler, Moderator  
Warren Formo, Executive Director, Minnesota Ag Water Coalition


Innovative Rural Health Care Options

Bobby Gierisch, RUPRI, Moderator 

Bobby Gierisch, RUPRI, Moderator 
Mr.  Kurt Mosley, Senior VP,  Merritt, Hawkins & Associates
Ms. Denise Denton, D2, Inc


Production Breakouts II 


Sustainability of Biofuels 
Nick Tindall,AEM, ModeratorJames  Boyd, California Energy Commission
Ross Korves, Independent Analyst 
Randy Spronk, Spronk Brothers Farms 


Marketing Agriculture Products: COOL, Food Safety and More


Joe Swedberg, Hormel, Moderator 
Kelly Johnston,  VP. Campbells Soup
Mark Harmon, Joplin Regional Stockyards
Brian Nilsson, Nilsson Brothers


Ag  Labor and Immigration Policy  


AR Sen. Jim Luker, Moderator 
Steve Copley, First United Methodist Church, Little Rock
Arizona Representative Russell Pearce
Jim Alexander, Maggio & Kattar
Jon Watts Hull, Staff 


State Wine Tasting Reception 


Welcome by Jean Marie Peltier


Dinner Cruise

Sunday, January 25


Annual  Meeting Breakfast, Election and Resolutions 


David Johnson 


Successful Agriculture and Rural Legislation Awards




Officer and Board Elections


Jake Flake Awards


Federal Update, Farm Bill Implementation


Jerry Parkin, Deere, Moderator
 Mary Kay Thatcher Director, Public Policy American Farm Bureau
Tom Buis, President, National Farmers Union


Buffet lunch and conclusion